Skip to content
Oxfordshire Counts — Oxfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Oxfordshire, in numbers

Projects

Oxfordshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Islip

Safer access across Islip Bridge

The scheme includes traffic signals, a footway and drainage repairs.

Works scheduled from September to November 2026; completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Oxfordshire County Council

What the source says: The published arrangement keeps pedestrian and cycle access while vehicles divert. Bus arrangements are described separately.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Islip Bridge traffic signal installation and improvement work →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Keep Islip connected during bridge works →

Target safety work where problems repeat →

How to track delivery →

Wantage town centre

Wantage Market Place improvements

Proposed changes cover surfaces, seating, planting and safer access around the market.

Design consultation held in summer 2026; final delivery not confirmed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Oxfordshire County Council

What the source says: Consultation responses describe participating respondents, not a representative poll of all residents. The published design remains a proposal.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Wantage Market Place design consultation →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make Wantage’s public space useful to different users →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Work in each district

Cherwell District Council

Cherwell →

Cherwell combines Banbury, Bicester, Kidlington and rural communities. The council has allocated local improvement money across these places, while its housing service warns that social homes are in high demand. A budget decision is a starting point: residents need to see what is delivered and who benefits.

£357,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Cherwell local authority area

16 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Oxford City Council

Oxford →

Oxford has new social-rent homes opening in Blackbird Leys while market and river-crossing projects progress separately. The page distinguishes homes people can move into from facilities still being built or planned.

£472,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Oxford local authority area

24 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

South Oxfordshire District Council

South Oxfordshire →

South Oxfordshire’s projects include social-rent homes in Didcot, flood work and improvements to public buildings and village facilities. These selected schemes cover different needs; they do not establish that every town or village receives the same investment.

£476,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

21 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Vale of White Horse District Council

Vale of White Horse →

The Vale of White Horse includes Abingdon, Wantage, Faringdon and villages with different local needs. Recent work combines leisure-centre energy upgrades, repair and reuse activities, nature grants and help to prevent homelessness. These are different kinds of progress: installations, openings, awards and support outcomes should be checked separately.

£414,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Vale of White Horse local authority area

24 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

West Oxfordshire District Council

West Oxfordshire →

West Oxfordshire’s review spans Carterton’s town-centre plans, investment at Witney’s Windrush Leisure Centre and the proposed Salt Cross settlement near Eynsham. Its service report also identifies benefit-processing pressure. Building projects and everyday support both need visible delivery checks.

£419,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · West Oxfordshire local authority area

27 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →