Skip to content
Oxfordshire Counts — Oxfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Oxfordshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Oxfordshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Oxfordshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 576,104 in 1991 to 769,831 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 588,454 people in 1996; 769,831 people in 2025. 30.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991576,104
1992580,384
1993577,090
1994579,849
1995585,813
1996588,454
1997593,589
1998596,991
1999603,800
2000607,115
2001607,277
2002609,491
2003616,031
2004620,412
2005627,568
2006630,873
2007635,094
2008638,784
2009643,095
2010648,688
2011654,791
2012662,243
2013669,390
2014676,621
2015682,571
2016690,541
2017696,188
2018702,259
2019708,513
2020714,766
2021726,727
2022740,061
2023754,028
2024765,123
2025769,831
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 119,021 people in 1996; 134,662 people in 2025. 13.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,626
1992117,597
1993116,732
1994117,695
1995118,857
1996119,021
1997119,550
1998119,901
1999119,806
2000119,342
2001118,309
2002117,697
2003118,134
2004118,072
2005118,333
2006118,533
2007118,896
2008119,390
2009120,255
2010121,142
2011122,334
2012123,658
2013124,664
2014125,374
2015126,153
2016127,355
2017127,737
2018128,457
2019128,706
2020129,004
2021129,898
2022132,108
2023134,468
2024135,586
2025134,662
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 385,553 people in 1996; 490,771 people in 2025. 27.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991381,283
1992382,586
1993379,255
1994380,296
1995383,964
1996385,553
1997389,271
1998391,636
1999397,758
2000400,750
2001400,855
2002402,705
2003407,800
2004411,221
2005416,665
2006419,120
2007421,434
2008422,408
2009423,279
2010425,311
2011427,818
2012429,824
2013432,766
2014436,469
2015439,157
2016443,774
2017447,019
2018450,374
2019453,765
2020457,854
2021465,971
2022473,783
2023482,058
2024488,876
2025490,771
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 83,880 people in 1996; 144,398 people in 2025. 72.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199179,195
199280,201
199381,103
199481,858
199582,992
199683,880
199784,768
199885,454
199986,236
200087,023
200188,113
200289,089
200390,097
200491,119
200592,570
200693,220
200794,764
200896,986
200999,561
2010102,235
2011104,639
2012108,761
2013111,960
2014114,778
2015117,261
2016119,412
2017121,432
2018123,428
2019126,042
2020127,908
2021130,858
2022134,170
2023137,502
2024140,661
2025144,398
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 725,294 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxfordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh46,3896.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African14,8832.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups22,6113.1%
White630,05486.9%
Other ethnic group11,3571.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 653,798 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxfordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White594,00490.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups13,2332%
Asian/Asian British31,6574.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British11,4241.7%
Other ethnic group3,4800.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 605,488 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Oxfordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White576,04495.1%
Mixed7,1031.2%
Asian/Asian British10,4801.7%
Black/Black British5,0020.8%
Chinese/Other6,8591.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Oxfordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,027.53 per person in 1997; £30,377.95 per person in 2024. 133.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,027.53
199813,249.78
199913,656.84
200014,529.37
200114,866.36
200215,209.41
200315,393.71
200416,105.43
200516,458.77
200617,536.02
200718,159.52
200818,530.52
200918,959.87
201018,754.78
201118,943.45
201219,693.68
201320,343.9
201421,064.97
201522,617.43
201622,547.54
201723,164.72
201824,142.09
201925,044
202024,451.36
202125,434.59
202226,969.42
202328,778.41
202430,377.95
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Oxfordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 22.79% in 1997; 17% in 2024. 5.79 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199722.79
199822.38
199920.73
200022.06
200120.17
200220.21
200318.1
200418.67
200517.08
200619.75
200718.34
200817.66
200918.41
201016.12
201116.26
201216.6
201316.15
201416.49
201518.89
201617.09
201717.58
201818.29
201918.86
202016.49
202116.44
202217.44
202317.7
202417
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.3%

21 March 2021 · Oxfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.4%

21 March 2021 · Oxfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.5%

21 March 2021 · Oxfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.4%

21 March 2021 · Oxfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£420,000

July 2026 · Oxfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.