Skip to content
Oxfordshire Counts — Oxfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Cherwell, in numbers

People and living standards: Cherwell

Cherwell local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cherwell local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 124,147 in 1991 to 172,178 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cherwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 128,043 people in 1996; 172,178 people in 2025. 34.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991124,147
1992126,804
1993122,749
1994124,428
1995127,494
1996128,043
1997127,589
1998128,411
1999130,001
2000132,270
2001131,988
2002132,586
2003133,977
2004134,947
2005135,876
2006137,159
2007138,120
2008139,440
2009140,301
2010141,337
2011142,252
2012143,519
2013145,185
2014146,636
2015148,630
2016150,819
2017152,329
2018154,367
2019156,447
2020158,435
2021161,830
2022164,566
2023167,778
2024170,734
2025172,178
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cherwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 28,324 people in 1996; 32,000 people in 2025. 13% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199128,303
199229,279
199327,788
199427,862
199528,486
199628,324
199728,006
199827,885
199927,990
200028,198
200127,716
200227,642
200327,706
200427,697
200527,844
200627,806
200727,812
200827,836
200927,902
201028,222
201128,461
201228,541
201328,683
201428,818
201528,895
201629,216
201729,204
201829,601
201929,849
202030,119
202130,401
202231,133
202331,735
202432,165
202532,000
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cherwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 83,169 people in 1996; 108,905 people in 2025. 30.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199180,707
199282,140
199379,324
199480,637
199582,712
199683,169
199782,891
199883,581
199984,844
200086,620
200186,486
200286,811
200387,788
200488,470
200588,913
200689,975
200790,540
200891,280
200991,584
201091,764
201191,862
201292,077
201392,748
201493,478
201594,774
201696,036
201797,032
201898,188
201999,487
2020100,675
2021103,116
2022104,450
2023106,396
2024108,239
2025108,905
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cherwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,550 people in 1996; 31,273 people in 2025. 89% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,137
199215,385
199315,637
199415,929
199516,296
199616,550
199716,692
199816,945
199917,167
200017,452
200117,786
200218,133
200318,483
200418,780
200519,119
200619,378
200719,768
200820,324
200920,815
201021,351
201121,929
201222,901
201323,754
201424,340
201524,961
201625,567
201726,093
201826,578
201927,111
202027,641
202128,313
202228,983
202329,647
202430,330
202531,273
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 161,015 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cherwell · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,7066%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,8451.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,6142.9%
White141,83188.1%
Other ethnic group2,0191.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 141,868 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cherwell · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White130,76192.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,5601.8%
Asian/Asian British6,0394.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,9611.4%
Other ethnic group5470.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 131,785 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cherwell · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,62796.1%
Mixed1,4561.1%
Asian/Asian British2,1471.6%
Black/Black British7120.5%
Chinese/Other8430.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cherwell council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,633 per person in 1997; £27,182 per person in 2024. 133.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,633
199811,821
199912,319
200012,939
200113,361
200213,657
200313,848
200414,507
200514,867
200615,862
200716,333
200816,599
200917,242
201017,004
201117,279
201218,034
201318,619
201419,367
201520,570
201620,634
201721,140
201822,015
201923,018
202022,491
202123,644
202225,063
202326,094
202427,182
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cherwell council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 9.6% in 1997; 4.7% in 2024. 4.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cherwell council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19979.6
19989.2
19998.9
20008.7
20018
20027.9
20036.2
20046.9
20055.8
20068.3
20076.4
20085.4
20097.7
20105.3
20116
20126.8
20136.3
20147.1
20158.1
20167.1
20177.3
20187.9
20199.2
20207.2
20218.2
20229.1
20236.7
20244.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

65.1%

21 March 2021 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.3%

21 March 2021 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16%

21 March 2021 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£357,000

July 2026 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,304

August 2026 · Cherwell local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.