Skip to content
Oxfordshire Counts — Oxfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Oxfordshire, in numbers

People and living standards: South Oxfordshire

South Oxfordshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Oxfordshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 119,988 in 1991 to 158,084 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 124,485 people in 1996; 158,084 people in 2025. 27% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,988
1992121,263
1993121,396
1994121,580
1995123,098
1996124,485
1997125,593
1998127,141
1999127,886
2000127,890
2001128,307
2002128,754
2003128,920
2004129,359
2005130,050
2006130,676
2007131,626
2008132,611
2009133,466
2010133,915
2011134,961
2012136,267
2013137,403
2014139,186
2015140,260
2016141,511
2017142,115
2018143,019
2019144,875
2020146,844
2021150,002
2022151,770
2023153,986
2024156,315
2025158,084
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,850 people in 1996; 28,281 people in 2025. 9.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,927
199224,423
199324,651
199425,008
199525,445
199625,850
199726,087
199826,488
199926,239
200025,975
200125,946
200225,942
200325,991
200426,048
200525,953
200625,952
200725,852
200825,839
200925,895
201025,855
201126,090
201226,127
201326,083
201426,182
201526,287
201626,496
201726,597
201826,742
201926,937
202027,278
202127,581
202227,762
202328,058
202428,268
202528,281
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,234 people in 1996; 95,606 people in 2025. 19.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,621
199279,232
199378,991
199478,737
199579,559
199680,234
199780,905
199881,856
199982,606
200082,601
200182,740
200282,927
200382,741
200482,759
200583,011
200683,419
200784,041
200884,377
200984,396
201084,174
201184,255
201284,436
201384,850
201485,880
201586,296
201686,868
201787,003
201887,274
201988,327
202089,522
202191,602
202292,399
202393,522
202494,857
202595,606
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Oxfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,401 people in 1996; 34,197 people in 2025. 85.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,440
199217,608
199317,754
199417,835
199518,094
199618,401
199718,601
199818,797
199919,041
200019,314
200119,621
200219,885
200320,188
200420,552
200521,086
200621,305
200721,733
200822,395
200923,175
201023,886
201124,616
201225,704
201326,470
201427,124
201527,677
201628,147
201728,515
201829,003
201929,611
202030,044
202130,819
202231,609
202332,406
202433,190
202534,197
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 149,088 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Oxfordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh4,2632.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,4671%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,4022.3%
White138,78593.1%
Other ethnic group1,1710.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 134,257 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Oxfordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White128,99396.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,8011.3%
Asian/Asian British2,4051.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British7680.6%
Other ethnic group2900.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 128,188 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Oxfordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White125,52797.9%
Mixed9230.7%
Asian/Asian British7310.6%
Black/Black British4440.3%
Chinese/Other5630.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 37.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Oxfordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,409 per person in 1997; £35,652 per person in 2024. 131.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,409
199815,487
199915,920
200017,157
200117,304
200217,684
200318,024
200418,953
200519,588
200620,717
200721,612
200822,001
200922,265
201022,255
201122,344
201223,159
201324,056
201424,750
201526,844
201626,626
201727,356
201828,194
201929,415
202028,654
202129,579
202230,890
202333,626
202435,652
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Oxfordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 45.2% in 1997; 37.3% in 2024. 7.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Oxfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199745.2
199843
199940.7
200044.1
200139.9
200239.8
200338.3
200439.7
200539.3
200641.5
200740.8
200839.7
200939
201037.8
201137.1
201237.1
201337.3
201436.9
201541.1
201638.3
201738.9
201838.1
201939.6
202036.5
202135.4
202234.5
202337.5
202437.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.9%

21 March 2021 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

10.4%

21 March 2021 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.4%

21 March 2021 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.2%

21 March 2021 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£476,000

July 2026 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,402

August 2026 · South Oxfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.